Putnam the “Sardonic” Commentor

I just realized that Hilary Putnam has taken up blogging. He calls his new diggs Sardonic Comment which I would say is very fitting for Putnam. He explains:

In 1976, when I delivered the John Locke Lectures at Oxford, I often spent time with Peter Strawson, and one day at lunch he made a remark I have never been able to forget. He said, “Surely half the pleasure of life is sardonic comment on the passing show”.  This blog is devoted to comments, not all of them sardonic, on the passing philosophical show.

Hilary Putnam

At any rate, without having looked too deeply into his blog I assume it will be entertaining to say the least. Give it a try and tell me what you think.

http://putnamphil.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

