Lawlessness, Small and Large by Angelo M. Codevilla

A reporter for The Nation magazine looking for a partisan “color” story cornered me at the 2014 Conservative Political Action Conference, asking what I thought of Chris Christie. I took the chance to remind his magazine’s audience that both parties in American politics have been adopting similar habits of lawlessness, and that continuing to confirm those habits has dire consequences.

The Nation’s reporter was in luck. I had graduated from Fort Lee High School in 1960, a stone’s throw from the traffic jam that Christie’s appointees had famously engineered. I told him that, as a kid I had gotten acquainted with lots of Chris Christie types while delivering the Bergen Evening Record on my bike in the town’s tonier parts.

Lawlessness, Small and Large by Angelo M. Codevilla.

Leave a Reply

